Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: Getting Back on Schedule And Moving On

As suggested, I’m going back onto a set schedule so that I can get each episode review out in a timely fashion. I’ll do my best to make sure there is a new episode review every three days (if it’s a two-parter, it will take five days). If for some reason I fall behind schedule or miss a day due to some unforeseeable complication or personal problems, I’ll let you know as soon as I can. Otherwise, this review schedule is in effect starting yesterday.

Over the past few days, I’ve been contemplating whether the Retrospective reviews should be placed on a whole new blog entirely and, on the other hand, whether I should completely get rid of the older episodes reviews. As I read through those old reviews, it’s rather painful to see how limited and hyper-subjective they were, and how little they might contribute to anyone else’s enjoyment and appreciation of Avatar. The Retrospective should rectify this, but that means the older reviews will be utterly useless except as archive material. Should I leave them be, move the new reviews to a new blog, or get rid of the old reviews entirely? Any feedback on this matter would be much appreciated.

– Marshall Turner

6 responses

  1. Ian

    First off, sorry about the lack of responses to your retrospective posts. I asked that a conversation be started and then have neglected to start one myself, so i apologize for that. Ill try my best to reply to all of them this week cause i have a lot of stuff to talk about in regards to how i perceived these episodes as a child and how I view them now

    I’m glad you asked for input from your audience because i believe you should totally, completely, 100 percent keep the older reviews. Its always been a unstated hobby of mine to once every year, when i inevitably get back into an Avatar the Last Airbender kick, to read your reviews along side them and compare them to my own thoughts. Your reviews had great points that i had never even considered about Avatar and they always made me laugh at your little quips about the characters or the references you would make to bands. I don’t however think they have to stay on this blog, so maybe a separate blog would be a good idea. On the other hand maybe you could have each post have a part two to it that links to your retrospective on the episodes.

    Either way, do what you will, it is your blog 🙂

    Thanks for the always interesting insight and I’m very happy to see this new schedule come about!

    June 23, 2015 at 12:29 am

  2. Brian

    Come back to this question when you’re finished with the retrospective. So far, some of your thoughts in the old reviews have been echoed here, so I don’t feel that the old reviews are really all that bad.

    June 23, 2015 at 12:29 pm

  3. ItalianBaptist

    Sorry I’ve been gone for so long. Life gets in the way plus I’m still trying to wrap my head around Korra lol.

    I’m inclined to agree with Ian that, yes, you should keep the older reviews up, because they make a lot of insightful points. Even if they are flawed, I at the very least appreciated a real person with real struggles not being afraid to share those struggles from time to time (appropriately with moderation of course). That’s actually what kept me interested in the blog in the first place and I’ve actually found myself going back to them and wanting to quote them in my own theological musings, especially the comments on the downfall of Azula.

    Maybe you could add more asterisks as a self-edit or mst3k of yourself later on, but there’s some good information to be had in those first drafts.

    June 24, 2015 at 11:08 am

  4. Grindal

    If you could find a way to discuss in the retrospectives why your viewpoint on certain episodes has changed or not from the original review then I think that’d work great. Or spend some time discussing why you think your old review of a particular episode was lacking and you initially thought that way. Overall though the old reviews are still very valuable and contain some fantastic insights throughout, so please don’t delete them.

    June 24, 2015 at 11:44 am

  5. JMR

    it’s rather painful to see how limited and hyper-subjective they were, and how little they might contribute to anyone else’s enjoyment and appreciation of Avatar

    For my two cents: “objectivity” in reviews is overrated. The most subjective parts of a work are the most interesting to read about, interpret, and debate. When I hear someone calling for less “subjective” reviews, I think of clinical descriptions of technical aspects with little in terms of analysis, so I’m a bit curious what you mean by saying the old reviews were “hyper-subjective”, and what you think that means needs to change.

    June 26, 2015 at 5:59 pm

    • The old reviews were hyper-subjective because I put more emphasis on my own experience watching the show with little to no regard for why it turned out the way it did. Even though the latter is the interesting part, too! Avatar is a fascinating show and it deserves a more thorough examination beyond how I reacted to it emotionally. That has its place, no doubt (there’d be no point to any of this if it didn’t), but it needs to proper context.

      As for my reviews, that’s just means being a bit more open-minded. An opinion is only as valuable as whatever spawned it, so it’s best to examine both.

      July 14, 2015 at 9:01 am

Leave a Reply

