Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: Still Not Dead (Yet), Still Insanely Busy

In light of the increased workload that has plagued me since the last post, I’ve been very neglectful of this blog over the past few months. That wouldn’t have been so bad, except that I promised to start the Avatar: the Last Airbender retrospective way back in February. That was a terrible lapse in judgment on my part, and I apologize to everyone still around for my absence.

Here’s the deal: I won’t be able to devote much attention to this blog again until May. By that point, all my priorities will have been straightened out, my classes finished, and my ultimate destiny decided. However, I’d rather not keep this blog so empty as I have these last few months, so I’ll want to post something to bind the time. I’m not sure what, though.

Lately, I’ve been absorbing a lot of animated features, series, and shorts through Netflix, the school library, and my own collection. If you’d all like, I can begin posting a few non-Avatar cartoon articles on this blog and then transfer them to the fabled animation blog when I have the time. They wouldn’t be too long or intricate (especially compared to the Avatar episode reviews), but it would be something. If anything, it would help me exercise my writing abilities in preparation for the heavy duty stuff later on. Let’s see where this goes.

Thank you all for your patience and support. Until next time!

– Marshall Turner

5 responses

  1. Gabriel

    Suggestion: give Gravity Falls a try (if you haven’t yet).

    April 3, 2015 at 7:57 pm

  2. Ian

    I agree wit the above. Gravity Falls is currently in its (to reference your title for book 2 of Avatar) magnum opus season. And season one is easily the “experiential season” and both shows are full comedy, drama, and most importantly, characterization that is incredible from episode to episode. So far I haven’t seen a bad episode of Gravity falls. Give it a shot if you have time

    As for your schedule, I completely understand. The day February ended I came here and saw that there was no Avatar re-reviews and I just thought
    “Poor Marshall..” I figured you were busy, so don’t worry about us. We will wait.

    A dedicated fan

    Ian

    April 3, 2015 at 11:00 pm

  3. rosemon

    Don’t worry about it, we understand that you must be very busy. Good luck with school and your future! As far as animated news goes, Stephen Universe has recently been making the rounds on tumblr and other sites for breaking gender and sexuality barriers because of a lesbian kissing scene and an episode devoted to hermaphroditism, so maybe I’d like to hear your thoughts on the show too, since it’s supposedly inspired by anime like Avatar is. There’s also been word of a magical boy parody on the Mary Sue called Cute High Earth Defense Club Love!, though I’m not sure how familiar you are with magical girl series or its target demographics…

    April 4, 2015 at 12:06 pm

  4. ChaosJumper

    Here’s an Idea: Write a blog on the canned Warner Brothers cartoons on CN: (Remade) Thundercats, Green Lantern the Animated Series, Young Justice and Beware the Batman. Thundercats was given a lot of praise, but CN trashed it and the other three were a part of DC Nation, but the hype of Legend of Korra (Since Green Lantern & Young Justice came on around the same time as Season One which wasn’t a good idea) and the fact that CN (For some reason) hate Warner Brothers when they’re not doing lame Kid’s revamps of their old shows (Teen Titans GO or as it’s called around a few friends of mine and youtube critic MyseriousMrEnter Toddler Titians) canned Beware the Batman to the point where it was given to the 2:30 AM slot on Tonami after DC Nation was taken off the block. Something to do if you wanted to dedicate a special time of the year kind of like how Nostalgia Critic has something special for January.

    April 11, 2015 at 11:06 pm

  5. drew

    I think some of the more serious episodes of Teen Titans would be good for quick mini-reviews.

    April 12, 2015 at 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

