Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: I’m Not Dead (Yet), Just Busy

If I’ve devoted less time to this blog then usual, it’s both because the end of The Legend of Korra has left me relatively unmotivated, and because my work schedule just became more hectic than I could have previously imagined. The next four months I will be preoccupied with several different projects, most of which have superseded the blog in significance.

That’s not to say I haven’t been working on future writings, the pending animation blog, and the upcoming Avatar: the Last Airbender and Korra retrospective (which will start in February). I simply have to fit them into my overall schedule to make it work. If anything, this could improve my writing, since every word and second will count much more this time around.

So bear with me a little longer, guys. I’m still here, just insanely busy and doing the best I can.

– Marshall Turner

11 responses

  1. Clander

    Now we play the waiting game

    February 2, 2015 at 4:09 pm

  2. talhydras

    Take your time, man! I’m really looking forward to your grand Avatar retrospective. I’ve just recently discovered your site and found it pretty profoundly thought provoking and enjoyable.

    February 4, 2015 at 5:40 pm

  3. Ian

    We’re all ready when you are!

    February 16, 2015 at 12:52 am

  4. Aradnor

    Marshall,

    I just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to create this blog, which I have found very interesting and informative (not to mention opinionated!). I began re-watching Avatar on a nostalgic whim at around Christmas last year and whilst I watched the series over again, then watching Korra twice, I was glad to have found your site (and the Doug Walker vlogs that you mentioned several times) for an impressively detailed analysis on each episode.

    I would say I am generally more forgiving of both Avatar and Korra’s faults (in fact I enjoyed Korra very much, even if it is not equal to its predecessor), something that I’d probably attribute to my nostalgia and the speed at which I went through both series. I’m 18 now, so I would have been 9-12 when Avatar originally aired. Imagine my surprise when after several years, this ‘kids’ show’ was as good and mature as I remembered. My joy at re-discovering the Avatar universe is likely amplified because I almost never watch TV, so it thus has earned a special place in my heart as the only series I’ve genuinely fallen in love with.

    In general, I appreciate all of your views, although I feel your hatred of Sokka/Jack DeSena and indifference to Aang are likely not representative of most fans. I also appreciate the effort that has actually gone into this blog – no matter how critical you may be of the show(s) it is always for the right reason, that’s to say that you care.

    Thus I would like to end by saying thanks once more, and that I look forward to any upcoming posts, especially if you do go ahead with your re-evaluation of Avatar.

    February 20, 2015 at 3:52 pm

  5. rosemon

    Did you see that official date image Bryan posted on his tumblr recently?

    March 7, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    • I just looked at it now. It’s nice. That whole tribute gallery was nice, too. It’s great that people still really love the shows.

      March 9, 2015 at 8:55 pm

  6. rosemon

    Now they’ve given a few more words on their ending as well:

    http://writingfail.tumblr.com/post/113320334775/lok-the-last-stand-dvd-commentary

    March 11, 2015 at 10:26 am

  7. rosemon

    Frozen 2 has also just been announced in addition to that new short film about it.

    March 12, 2015 at 10:00 pm

  8. Dan

    I’m not sure if you’re aware of Steven Universe, but I can say with all confidence that it’s the best cartoon on TV right now. The season finale was last night, and it explored a same-sex romance in less than ten minutes with infinitely more chemistry than Korra. Unfortunately, I doubt it will receive even a tenth of the praise for LGBT representation that Korra did. Also, SU is a show that kids actually seem to be watching, unlike Korra which was too boring for kids and too shallow for adults (I guess that leaves sex-starved teens who love to ship cartoon characters?).

    March 14, 2015 at 4:39 am

  9. rosemon

    http://queertoonqueertoons.tumblr.com/post/109200341468/dear-bryke-you-are-not-a-reflection-of-your

    A longtime defender of Bryke on tumblr finally seems to be taking a second look at Korra.

    March 15, 2015 at 7:55 pm

  10. Noxphoenix

    We just made a live action Avatar Fan Film…thought you might be interested. Regardless thanks for this blog! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4fmYMe6ePo

    March 23, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

