Because fans should be critical, too

A Lovely Video on the Origins of “Avatar” and “Korra”

Disclaimer: This blog may become a link-a-thon for a while before the retrospective on Avatar: the Last Airbender begins. Please bear with me.

As I prepare myself and the blog for the big Avatar: the Last Airbender and The Legend of Korra retrospective (which won’t begin until February, for numerous reasons), I’ve been going through whatever videos and articles I can. This one, by Emergency Awesome, has pretty much done all that work for me. It’s a decent video, though I believe some points could have been greatly elaborated on, but probably weren’t in the interest of time. Emergency Awesome will apparently be doing a whole video retrospective of its own. I’ll see how that first video goes; as long as it’s not too fanatical, it could be interesting.

Speaking of fanatical videos, here’s another Emergency Awesome video of voice actors Janet Varney, David Faustino, and P.J. Byrne (Korra, Mako, and Bolin respectively) that’s simply priceless. At one point, they seem to be making fun of the deification of creators Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko by the more hardcore fans. Whether this was the intent, it’s still pretty funny (especially Byrne’s antics).

8 responses

  1. drew

    Any thoughts on the unaired pilot of ATLA?

    January 12, 2015 at 11:16 pm

    • drew

      Crap, my link. Uh, just google it I guess…

      January 12, 2015 at 11:17 pm

  2. Clander

    I really can’t stand that guy’s videos. I don’t know why, I just can’t. The bottom video was funny though

    January 13, 2015 at 12:49 am

  3. rosemon

    Ah, yes. Emergency Awesome has made quite a few videos relating to all things Avatar, though I don’t know if it’s an ongoing thing. Anyway, something just came up across all of Tumblr regarding Korra’s hype:

    http://nickanimationstudio.tumblr.com/post/108032062525/you-voted-the-legend-of-korra-won-ign-official

    Even people who had problems with the show in general are happy about this, though mostly because of that whole Korra+Asami ending, I bet.

    January 13, 2015 at 10:47 pm

  4. rosemon

    If you like, here are more videos with an interesting critical perspective on the show.

    January 14, 2015 at 7:32 pm

  5. ChaosJumper

    Get as much as you need for the retrospective. As for me, I’m going to rewatch the series from 1-4 and just return to the reactions I had:

    Book 1: Well, that was disappointing. Back to Green Lantern the Animated Series! (It was on during the same time and I gave it more attention than LOK)

    Book 2: Wow, this is just badly executed. The episode from Dexter’s Lab where the family fight a giant monster was better than the Season Finale. It had pretty much the exact same Deus Ex to weaken the monster!

    Book 3: I enjoyed the journey, I loved the villain. Just thought how it ended felt unwarranted and overly simplistic.

    Book 4: ….That’s it?! That’s how it ends? And I thought endings to shows getting canceled were bad enough!

    Why do I do that to myself? Because I am a man for punishment! Also, I want to see if I will have the same reaction (positive or negative)

    January 14, 2015 at 10:20 pm

  6. rosemon

    Wow, I managed to find one more, in three parts no less (other two are on youtube somewhere)!

    January 16, 2015 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

