Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: Considering a Complete Re-evaluation After Book Four

With The Legend of Korra approaching its climax–bringing a close to adventures in the Avatar universe–I think it only makes sense to trash everything and start from scratch: go back and re-evaluation every single episode of Avatar: the Last Airbender and every single episode of The Legend of Korra in complete retrospect. I’d like to think my writing and thought processes have vastly improved since I started this blog nearly three years ago, and the new reviews should reflect that. Additionally, after re-reading a few of my reviews, there are quite a few ideas and conclusions that don’t hold up anyway in my eyes.

This, of course, won’t go into effect until Book Four of Korra is over. Perhaps it’ll start near the beginning of 2015. We’ll see what happens.

– Marshall Turner

7 responses

  1. Clander

    Awesome! I’m super excited to hear what you will say of book 2 of Korra in particular. I suspect you’ll rip it an amazing asshole

    October 22, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    • Book Two was a nightmare. I’d rather watch “The Great Divide” three times in a row.

      October 27, 2014 at 11:36 pm

  2. Italianbaptist

    It would definitely be neat to go over the two series again as a unified whole, like re-watching Star Wars 4-6 after 1-3 came out.

    Would this be something you would consider involving some of your more regular commenters with to get other viewpoints? I hope that’s not too bold of a question, I just remember seeing some people say your reviews were very personal, and having other voices with different experiences might help to give it more of an “objectivity” (not that any review can be totally objective, but I hope you know what I mean).

    October 22, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    • That’s a good idea! I’ll write my review, and everyone else should definitely give their own thoughts along the way. We can all re-watch the series together and give our thoughts! Naturally, my own review would take a bit more precedence only because it’s my blog, but everyone should pitch in their own thoughts, argue out certain points, and maybe even change a few minds on some things.

      And I’ll be a tad more “objective” this time around, stating certain personal biases as we go, but sticking mainly to what the show expresses in and of itself.

      October 27, 2014 at 11:35 pm

  3. Ian

    Dude, Im all for that! That sounds like a great Idea! Maybe it could make for a great summer project? Whenever you do it, ill be here to read it 🙂

    October 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

  4. I think before you even touch the old Avatar episodes, I would suggest that you do review of episodes of Legend of Korra or at the very least, the episodes you liked… Such as… Long live the Queen, which you still have yet to release.

    October 24, 2014 at 10:26 am

    • Dammit, you’re right! I’ll need to fit in a specific review of “Long Live the Queen” between Book Four episode reviews. Now I’ll have to revisit “Long Live the Queen.” Which is fine by me.

      October 27, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Leave a Reply

