Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: No New “Korra” Video Review Until Next Week

I tried to be efficient with this, but due to family problems, the next segment of the Korranalysis won’t be done until next week. To rectify this unfortunate incident, next week: 1) three segments will be completed and uploaded; and 2) I’ll upload a special video treat that I think you all will get a kick out of. I can’t provide any details on the latter, except to say that singing will be involved.

Sorry about this, guys. I’ll definitely be done with the Korranalysis before Book Two airs. It’ll be much easier to get them done once I’m back at school and away from my family (funny how that works). In the meantime, thank you for your patience!

– Marshall Turner

11 responses

  1. Ian

    take your time dude. we can wait. Im looking really forward so, keep up the good work.

    August 17, 2013 at 10:01 pm

  2. yunus58

    It’s no problem. I rather wait a week and have 3 videos at once.

    August 18, 2013 at 5:52 am

  3. rosemon

    Sorry to hear about family problems. Will these next three videos be released all at once next Saturday, or one by one during this next week?
    Btw, Doug is (somewhat regularly) releasing his new Korra blogs, though they’re not very detailed. I find it a bit interesting that he likes the way everything is vague, unlike you who thinks Korra’s vagueness is a detriment to its story-telling.

    http://thatguywiththeglasses.com/videolinks/thatguywiththeglasses/specials/40310-the-legend-of-korra-vlogs-the-revelation

    August 18, 2013 at 4:32 pm

  4. rosemon

    August 18, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  5. rosemon

    Doug may disagree with you on Tahno, he sees him as a generic bully. I’d have to agree with him there, he’s kinda like a lot of anime villains. He only got potentially interesting when he lost his bending, but that went nowhere…

    August 19, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    • On paper, yeah, Tahno is pretty generic. But there’s something about his character animation and the voice acting that seemed really unique to me.

      But you’re right, any real interest in his character would have come after his Bending was taken away, but that opportunity was missed.

      August 28, 2013 at 1:53 pm

  6. rosemon

    Another Book 2 trailer has just come out, and having seen it myself, I’m not quite sure if you should even look into book 2 since it’s just more of the same character-wise.

    In regards to the love triangle episode, half of Doug’s commentators tell him that the series gets better from then on while half tell him that the romance gets worse. I wonder if there is a Star-Wars Prequel-esque denial of Korra’s general mediocrity? Kinda like how people couldn’t believe The Phantom Menace sucked until way later.

    August 20, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    • I think people are very much in denial regarding Korra‘s quality, but it’s actually worse than with the Star Wars prequels. At least those films (or the original trilogy, for that matter) never purported to be anything more than entertainment. Korra, on the other hand, promised to actually to say about the world, and fucked up miserably. So while the failure of the Star Wars prequels is certainly infuriating, the fact that Korra is being touted as something groundbreaking and revolutionary even by intelligent viewers when it’s clearly not (except in its technical accomplishments) makes you wonder if you’re the crazy one because “you just don’t get it.”

      August 28, 2013 at 2:04 pm

  7. rosemon

    http://thatguywiththeglasses.com/videolinks/thatguywiththeglasses/specials/40353-the-legend-of-korra-vlogs-and-the-winner-is

    I guess Doug Walker feels the same way about Harry Potter as you do about Korra.

    August 21, 2013 at 9:54 pm

  8. rosemon

    Doug’s overall commentary on Korra might be short, but I’ve found a guy called Lord Seth who comes up with much longer and much more detailed essays about both ATLA and LOK. You may disagree with him a lot.

    http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/203-cartoons-and-animation/63349843?page=2
    http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/203-cartoons-and-animation/66789931?page=1

    Granted, his arguments come usually in posts, but he notices stuff that you might have missed in ATLA, notably that the romance in ATLA may not have been any better than the stuff in Korra, and I agree. I’ve always believed that romance was the worst part of Avatar in general, but its problems have been exacerbated in Korra. To me, it’s a matter of how you use the time you’ve got to develop a romance rather than how much time you have.

    August 22, 2013 at 10:31 am

    • Thanks for these links, I’ve enjoyed reading Lord Seth’s views!

      In regards to the romance in Avatar: the Last Airbender, I think the reason it never bothered/even registered to me was because it was so, so typical. I probably knew it was coming and I just didn’t care. Additionally, they didn’t force it into forefront of the story, so it never became annoying (except in “The Ember Island Players” and the tail ending). I’m sure when I watch Avatar again, I’ll notice just how flimsy the romance is. As of now, though, I don’t remember it affecting my perception of the show at all.

      September 2, 2013 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

