Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: As I Work on the “Korra” Video Review…

…I’m going to attempt to also spend as much time getting my normal Avatar: the Last Airbender reviews done (the ones that need revision, anyway). Unfortunately, I can’t promise they’ll appear anytime soon, especially with my free time being so sparse again and my main efforts now devoted to this Legend of Korra review. I’ll try to make sure each update isn’t so empty  as this one, though. Please bear with me a little longer.

– Marshall Turner

5 responses

  1. gen

    Hello, sorry to disturb but is this video in question almost finished? How far would you say that you are now in the process?

    January 19, 2013 at 10:23 am

    • Oh, boy, not even close. I’ve just gotten to the finale episodes to take my final notes before I start writing a draft of the review. This will take a while…

      January 20, 2013 at 2:55 pm

  2. gen

    I was also reading some of your past reviews, and I was pleased at how critical and harsh some of these reviews were, particularly in regards to overly-sentimental moments and hackneyed ways to evoke sympathy from the audience. Do you think you could note instances of these in Korra, as I thought many moments in certain episodes like episode 10 (with the baby’s delivery) were rather silly ways to make the audience care and to show that this show was for kids.

    January 19, 2013 at 10:32 am

    • Of course I will!

      That said, I actually just re-watched episode ten, and while the baby delivery was expected (rule of thumb: you see a pregnant woman in a film, she will delivery that baby before it’s over) and had me rolling my eyes, I thought everything that followed, with the family immediately making their getaway, balanced out the sentimentality out well. The scene of the kids fighting Equalists, however, still baffles me.

      January 20, 2013 at 3:07 pm

  3. gen

    I could not stand the littlest airbender kid, Meelo, who was nothing more than a walking fart-joke. You could take him out and virtually nothing would change. I feel like he’s just there so that he can say silly things and people on the internet can turn those silly sayings into memes and whatnot. Easily one of the worst characters in Korra. I wonder how you might rate each character in this series, or compare them to those in the previous series (what would you make of Bryke’s statements like “Mako is Zuko without the angst”?)

    January 20, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

