Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: Re-adjustment Time Over, Time to Face the Finale

My unofficial, unannounced hiatus–in which I adjusted to my new college living quarters and class schedule–is finally and mercifully over. I apologize to those patiently awaiting my thoughts on the Avatar: the Last Airbender finale, and I promise that my thoughts on such will be posted starting this Saturday September 8th.

Also, regarding my unfinished The Legend of Korra reviews: as awkward as it would be, I feel the need to re-watch and review the entire series in light of the horrid finale. Probably not as extensive as my usual stuff–especially with the numerous writings elsewhere on how the series went wrong–but something nonetheless.

– Marshall Turner

4 responses

  1. Grindal

    Hey Marshall I’m relatively new to the website but I’ve gone through all of your reviews which are enjoyable to read (even if I don’t agree with some of them). I think it would be a good idea to go back through Korra. Although I was disappointed with the finale (not as much as you), it is a bit weird to say the least when I read your reviews on Korra. For example, you claimed that “And the Winner is…” is pretty much a perfect episode, and the next thing we get from you is that the finale has ruined the series. Was the ending really that bad in your opinion that episodes like this one are no longer great? Or was there a gradual progress in your dislike for the show because of the lack of character development and uneven pacing? Also, I believe that “Turning the Tides” was almost as good as “And the Winner Is…”, so disregarding the fact that Lin’s sacrifice was pointless, I would be very interested in a fair review of that episode without any presentiments about the finale obscuring your opinion. Anyway, I’ve wasted enough time writing, so I look forward to your reviews.

    September 3, 2012 at 2:41 am

    • Yes, this is precisely why I need to revisit Korra, even if I don’t want to. My dislike for the show wasn’t even gradual on an episode-by-episode basis; it literally happened after the ending of the finale, which shocked me into slowly realizing that nothing in the series really added up to: 1) warrant such an ending; or 2) make me feel like I did anything but waste my own time watching it.

      Strangely enough, I still believe “And the Winner Is…” is a perfect episode, but that’s strictly from a formalist standpoint. It’s a perfect episode the same way King Crimson’s Larks Tongues in Aspic is a perfect avant-garde jazz rock album: I’m more amazed by its construction than by its emotional impact on me (with, in both cases, is pretty minimal).

      I would be very interested in a fair review of that episode without any presentiments about the finale obscuring your opinion.

      Grindal, you and I both know that’s all but impossible. I can certainly try, but I make no promises.

      September 5, 2012 at 4:53 pm

  2. Crutch Limply

    Pretty sure “When Extremes Meet” was the best Korra episode and if they had delivered on the promise of that episode Korra would have been absolutely incredible instead of just very enjoyable but significantly less than the sum of its parts.

    September 3, 2012 at 3:59 am

    • I don’t remember “When Extremes Meet” too well, but I remember thinking it was the last episode I could guiltlessly enjoy before things started to truly fall apart. We shall see.

      September 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

