Because fans should be critical, too

Announcement: Expect a Better Explanation for my Disappointment with the Ending of “Korra”

As the title suggests, a much more in-depth explanation for my pure hatred for the ending of The Legend of Korra is in the works at the moment. It’s been eating away at me since the finale last Saturday, and will probably continue to until I finally examine why.

Hopefully this doesn’t interfere with my usual Avatar: the Last Airbender reviews, but if it does, I will certainly let you know.

– Marshall Turner

4 responses

  1. SpiderHyphenMan

    What are you talking about? The series ending was awesome! What other show would have the balls to end the season with the two main antagonists dying in a murder-suicide?

    😉

    June 25, 2012 at 12:41 am

    • The same show that would whip out a deus ex machina at the very last minute just so the season could have a happy ending.

      June 25, 2012 at 1:23 am

  2. Molotov146

    Personally I liked the way it ended. Looking back I was upset at how it ended, but after re-examining the rest of the season, it does make sense. It would make more sense if they had more than 2 minutes to flesh it out however. As always I’m interested in what you have to say on the matter though.

    June 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

  3. Eugene

    Get it out of your system if you must but from where I’m sitting, there’s no reason to explain anything. Aside for the suicide scene and the 4 minutes after which Korra’s powers are taken, the entire episode was bland. And this is considering that I already had relatively low expectations about the series once it nose dived into creating forgettable characters and love triangles. If people thought that the Turtle at the end of the Last Airbender was a Deus Ex Machina, then Aang’s appearance in this finale is what?… more contrived than a teen slasher or more contrived than the ending of Tangled?

    I’ll chime in some more if you ever follow up with your extended explanation. Let’s just say that the majority of what you mentioned in your bullet point list is not even scratching the surface. How about forgettable characters? Or a theme in which spirituality is equated with what elemental powers you do or don’t have? (Oh, I lost 3 of my 4 powers, I am no longer the embodiment of spirituality. Oh, but now Aang gave them back to me, and my spirituality is restored! I can now go in/out of the Avatar state at will, which took Aang the entire series to do!) Or the triumphant music playing in the background while a kissing couple is cheating on a girl that just nearly got killed by her own Dad?

    I could go on but…

    June 25, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

